The ‘Show a Message’ action shows a message when a user saves or submits a form. The message can be positioned above or below the form. Messages have a variety of display options that can be configured when you add the action.
It is possible to add multiple message actions, so that messages are shown one after the other when the form is saved or submitted. You can drag and drop the actions to determine which order the messages are displayed in.
Adding This Action
To add a ‘Show a Message’ action:
- When editing your form, click the ‘Actions’ icon at the top of the page. The ‘Actions’ sidebar will open on the right-hand side of the page.
- Click the ‘Add’ icon to add a new action.
- Select ‘Show a Message’ from the Action pulldown. A series of settings will appear.
As with all sidebars in WS Form, click the ‘Save’ button at the bottom to save your changes, or click ‘Cancel’ to disregard your changes.
The ‘Show a Messages’ action settings are as follows:
When should this action run?
You can choose to show the message when the form is saved, submitted, or both.
There are four different types of message:
- Success (Green)
- Information (Blue)
- Warning (Orange)
- Danger (Red)
Enter the message you would like to be displayed. HTML is supported in this field should you wish to apply additional formatting.
You can choose to position your message above or below your form when it fires. For large forms we would recommend enabling ‘Scroll to top’ if you choose top positioning, so that the message is seen by the user.
Hide Form When Shown
If enabled the form will be hidden when the message is shown.
Clear Other Messages
If enabled any other messages on the screen will be cleared first. This is useful if you are adding multiple message actions.
Scroll to Top
If enabled the browser will scroll to the top of the page when the message is shown.
Use this field to enter how long the message is shown before the next action fires. The value entered should be in milliseconds (1 second = 1000 milliseconds). If you enter a value in this field, the following two options are also available.
Hide Message After Duration
If enabled the message will be hidden after the ‘Show Duration’ has elapsed.
Show Form After Duration
If enable the form will be shown after the ‘Show Duration’ has elapsed.