Save Submission Action

The Save Submission action is added by default when you create a form, and it is used to save a submitted or saved form to the WS Form database for later retrieval in the Submissions administration page.

When a form is saved or submitted, the following is stored in the database:

  • Submission ID
  • Status
    • Submitted, Draft, or Trashed
    • Whether the form was submitted in preview or published mode
  • Date added
  • Date updated
  • WordPress user (if submitted by a website visitor who is logged in)
  • Duration (the time it took the website visitor to complete the submission)
  • All submitted fields
  • Any tracking information that was enabled and able to be obtained
  • Details of any actions that fired when the form was saved or submitted

Adding This Action

To add a Save Submissions action:

  1. When editing your form, click the Actions icon at the top of the page. The Actions sidebar will open on the right-hand side of the page.
  2. Click the Add  icon to add a new action.
  3. Select Save Submissions from the Action pulldown. A series of settings will appear.

As with all sidebars in WS Form, click the Save button at the bottom to save your changes, or click Cancel to disregard your changes.

The Save Submissions action settings are as follows:

When Should This Action Run?

You can choose to show the message when the form is saved, submitted, or both.

Fields to Save

This setting allows you to save all fields or select which fields to include or exclude. If you choose the include or exclude filter feature, you will be prompted to add the fields you wish to filter. Click Add to add fields to this list.

Note that any excluded fields will also be excluded in other actions too.

Auto Delete Submissions

You can set submissions to be automatically trashed or permanently deleted after a pre-determined number of days using this option.

If submissions are not being trashed or permanently delete, please ensure your wp-cron process is correctly configured to run.

Mark as Read

If checked, new submissions will automatically be marked as read.